Feeling Sick


So I’m currently 8 weeks and my gosh has the nausea begun. I’ve been feeling off for a few weeks with the occasional wave of nausea hitting me and I thought that was hard, how wrong was I?

I don’t know what’s worse, being sick or feeling constantly sick. Now this is coming from someone who is petrified of being sick, so petrified that I’ve made up my own breathing techniques I have to do when I know I’m going to be sick otherwise I panic. But I actually think I would prefer to be sick, and I can’t believe I’m saying that!

It’s affecting my day to day life and I’m really struggling at work. Early pregnancy is hard anyway as it makes you super tired. But with this constant nausea it’s doubled it. I can’t seem to sit or stand for very long I have to lie down. I’m not eating, the thought of any food at the moment makes me turn green (two weeks ago you couldn’t fill me with enough cheese – right now the thought is repulsive). I’m managing water or orange Fanta (my actual lifeline). 

I also feel like I’m completely neglecting my two year old who wants to play all the time. I manage about 15-20 minutes but that’s it I have to rest after that. It’s so not fair on him but I don’t know what else to do.

Needless to say that at the minute I’m feeling pretty fed up! I can’t talk to anyone about this apart from my partner or my mum, my partner won’t understand bless him as he’s never gone through pregnancy and my poor mum I don’t think can manage any more. No one else knows so I’m going through this as quietly as I can when all I want to do is post all over Facebook about how pants I’m feeling right now.

Hopefully this will lift when I leave the first trimester, my god I’m hoping so. I didn’t feel this rubbish with my anemia in my first pregnancy. Also I’m pondering if this baby could be a girl as I feel totally different this time round, I certainly didn’t feel this bad the first time. Who knows?

Right I’ll stop winging, hold my nose whilst I make my sons lunch (ugh – vom) and pray to the gods above that he goes down for a nap this afternoon so I can sneak one in too!

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

